National Committee on Medical Research Ethics (TUKIJA) was set up on 1 October 2010.

Previously, TUKIJA operated for 11 years as the Sub-Committee on Medical Ethics of The National Advisory Board on Health Care Ethics.

TUKIJA's operations are primarily based on the Finnish Medical Research Act (No 488/1999) and the associated decrees.

During the term of 2 October 2014 - 30 September 2018, serving as TUKIJA's Chairman will be Docent Tapani Keränen with Docent Miia Turpeinen acting as the Deputy Chairman.